Morning Blues, Before the Coffee, Before the Bass

by waxnwings

I love mornings: self-professed morning lover. I smile every morning. I love my alarm. If I ever have trouble getting up I create a temporal external self which laughs at the self still in bed – the whining bed troll – and the fact that it has to get up when it is still craving REMs; it’s a mocking bastard. I love him.

So often I need to bring myself back down. Get real. Get low. And so it’s blues which does the job rather well as the manufactured comedown for an all too regularly hectic morning.

I get up at 6.47am and leave the house when my watch reads 7.53 am My bus departs promptly at 07.55, but my watch is permanently set 3 minutes in the future.

I never miss my morning bus, but I often find myself brushing teeth on the way to the bus stop, spitting minty foam into the wind with the deliberation of a man with nothing to lose.

During the 1 hour and 6 minute interim period I allocate myself in the morning I shower, make a 1/2 scoop protein shake with 3/4 pint of milk, consume a piece of fruit, boil 3 eggs, eat two whole and one white, pour said vanilla shake into a bowl of oats with cinnamon and Canderel and pack three meals and a couple more shakes for the rest of the day.

I’m a fucking rock star.

Said you know I love you, baby
My love for you I could never hide
Oh, you know I love you, baby
My love for you I could never hide
Oh, when I feel you near me, little girl
I know you are my one desire

When you hear me moaning and groaning, baby
You know it hurts me deep down inside
Oh, when you hear me moaning and groaning, baby
You know it hurts me deep down inside
Oh, when you hear me, honey baby
You know you’re my one desire

~ John Lee Hooker, ‘I Can’t Quit You Baby’

